Sick guppy in a fish bowl

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ZLX

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,

I'm new in this hobby as well as to this board. 4-6 weeks ago, I received an 23-liter aquarium as a gift and eventually 12 guppies. My pre-teen kids love it and even gave names to all of them :ermm:
We lost one a few weeks ago and last week, I noticed that one of them had what looked like worms sticking out of possibly the anus.
After long research, my best guess was that it's infected with Camallanus worms. Assuming that the diagnostics was accurate, i researched for treatment and eventually settled on Levamisole which was ordered yesterday.

As the others show no signs yet, I decided to isolate the one with the symptoms. Since I don't have a quarantine tank or even additional filters or air pumps, I decided to keep it in a large glass bowl.
The fish is at the bottom of the bowl, sometimes even lying sideways. I'm not sure if I'll get the treatment on time, or even if the fish has enough energy to go through a treatment. I'm changing half of the water everyday by bringing in water from the "normal" tank (I take out maybe an 1/8th).

Am I wasting my time? More importantly, am I torturing this fish? Is it time to euthanize?

Both my kids were crying in front of the tank today for well over an hour when I told them that I wasn't sure if it will survive!

Any advice is much appreciated.
Thanks

Your answer is in the title. Guppies need at least a 10g tank imo. A fish bowl is too small for anything except shrimp and snails. It's a common mistake for those new to the hobby and is often sold by LFS employees as being perfectly fine.

I would euthanize with clove oil, get a bigger tank, cycle it properly (going to the getting started section and reading the articles in the sticky), and start over.