snail free anachris

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bbarb27

Aquarium Advice Activist
snail free anacharis

I have several low light planted tanks. So far all are snail free and I'd prefer to keep them that way if possible until I decide to purchase specific snails. So far I've been able to avoid snails and snail eggs hitchhiking on plants by doing a bleach dip before adding new plants to the tanks.

I'd like to add anacharis and/or hornwort to a few tanks but have read that a bleach dip will kill them. Any idea how to treat these plants?

I bought some potassium permangenate (sp) but I've never used it before. Anyone had success using it to dip stem plants and kill snails? Any tips to offer?

Last edited:
Removing Snail Eggs From Plants

I have several low light planted tanks. So far all are snail free and I'd prefer to keep them that way if possible until I decide to purchase specific snails. So far I've been able to avoid snails and snail eggs hitchhiking on plants by doing a bleach dip before adding new plants to the tanks.

I'd like to add anacharis and/or hornwort to a few tanks but have read that a bleach dip will kill them. Any idea how to treat these plants?

I bought some potassium permangenate (sp) but I've never used it before. Anyone had success using it to dip stem plants and kill snails? Any tips to offer?

Hello Bbarb...

I like snails. The "Ramshorn" variety are great for controlling algae and if you don't feed your fish and plants too much, the snail population is very managable. Avoid using chemicals of any kind. Dipping the plants in a strong, natural salt solution will kill the snail eggs and dry out the shells of the others.

READ THESE INSTRUCTIONS THROUGH BEFORE STARTING