So I Want a Planted Aquarium...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Arwai

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Good morning everyone. I'm a newbie to the forum and I already introduced myself in member introductions. I have 29 gallon aquarium and want to make it a planted tank. I haven't set up the tank or cycled it yet because I wanted to acquire all materials that I would need first before I set it up. I just wanted to get some feedback on what I'm thinking to get based off of reading on here, in books, and research online.

I'm thinking I want to start with amazon swords, banana plants, java moss and or fern, and wisteria. From what I'm reading those are low to moderate light plants. Would those be suitable for a beginner you think? Also I'm thinking of using black tahaitian moon sand with flourite under it as a substrate.

With a 29 gallon tank I've been finding differing opinions on gettin a HOB filter vs a canister. In your opinion what would best? Also would NO fluorescents work well considering the size of my tank? And would a CO2 injection be necessary? I was uncertain from my research. Also if it helps, I'm considering glofish, cory and/or upside down catfish, danios, and platys and the fish I want to stock my aquarium with.

Sorry for being so long but I wanted to make sure that I gave all the info needed to help with answering my questions. Thanks in advance!:D