Some advice please on my first planted aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stix_oz

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
G'Day all, i am about 2 weeks in to the cycling stage of my new 70 Gallon tank, it will mainly have African tetras in it and i am very new to aquariums in general.

I want to plant a few tallish kind of plants in the back of my tank and a few small plants for looks at the front. Other than a few days reading on the net about planted aquariums i know basically nothing about planted aquariums.

I know light and Co2 are important but can't really find the info i'm looking for.

I have a double weatherproof 4ft fluro and a single basic fluro, i have a 40w Boyu "Planted aquarium light" tube a 40w 17000K Power glo tube and 2 standard 36w 6500K tubes.

If possible i don't want to have to get in to Co2 just yet, can anyone recommend maybe 2-3 plant species that would work well in my tank and give me a rough guide as to which fluros tubes to use and how long to have them on for? I want a maximum of 6-8 plants in the tank good for beginners with minimal Co2 needs.

I don't mind doing water changes and testing adding fertiliser etc but i am on a bit of a budget.

Any advice for a newb?

Thanks in advance guys.

Stix

Looks like you've got a little over 2WPG over your aquarium This is the grey area as to whether or not CO2 injection will be necessary to keep algae at bay. It does give you a nice selection of plants. You should be grow most anything that requires medium light or less, and may be able to grow some of the medium high light plants.

Generally you want bulbs with a kelving rating between 5000K and 10000K. The powerglo tube is definately outside that range. It may or may not work well for the plants. I try it out for now, you can always replace it later.