Some advise

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dgso1036

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to this hobby and this is only the second time I've posted. I have a 20 gallon tank and had ick pretty bad. I first treated it with copper-safe and after a week it was worse. I spoke to my lfs and they told me to try rid-ich and turn the temp up in my tank. They also told me to do a 50%+ water change to get most of the copper out before starting rid-ich. I did all of that and turned the temp up to 84 degrees in low increments. When I turned the temp up my catfish and algae eater started stressing out bad, so I turned the temp down to about 81 degrees. I've been treating with rid-ich for five days. I have 2 tiger barbs with the white specks all over their body and fins. I have no idea if the treatment is working since they do not seem to be getting better. Should I just keep doing what I'm doing or try something else?

Well you shouldn't be treating your main tank with anything you should have a qt tank for that. But if thats your only alternative I would use cupramine its a copper based med. for both freshwater and salt. It is very effective against ich and its not as stressful on fish as other coppers. Make sure you follow the directions carefully. You'll also need a copper test kit that test for ionic copper.Good luck.

Unfortunately I don't have a qt tank. Should I quit the rid-ich and go back to the coppersafe or go get the one you recommended?