Stupid Question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carlosk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey,

I'm new to all this fish keeping and aquarium stuff, but I'm currently performing a fishless cycle. I've been reading up a lot on here and researching the topics and carrying out the procedure as best as I possibly can. Anyway, I'm cruising along with the cycle, I'm hoping that it won't be too long before I have it completed.

So now I figure it's time to start deciding on what to stock in my tank. I'm not overly fond of Cichlids, so I am looking towards guppies, mollies and whatever will live harmoniously together while making the tank look well.

Anyway, my question may seem a bit thick to most of you on here... but it's something I've noticed while carrying out my water changes during the fishless cycle. Regarding the stocking of the tank. I'm guessing with freshwater tropical, the temp should be maintained around 24 degC or thereabouts? So what are the tips or tricks to ensure that the temp doesn't plummet to arctic temps or rise enough to cook the fish alive, when water changes take place? I wouldn't want to cause any stress or major changes to cope with in the tank, rather keep things steady and stable.

Any other tips about the topic I should know of?

Thanks in advance
Carlosk :fish1:

Try and get the replacement water the same temp as the tank by mixing warm and cold and using a thermomiter or stick a heater in your bucket and set it at the same temp as the tank. I mix hot and cold and match it to the tank with a didital thermomiter untill it matches the tank temp. Make sure you use de-clor aswell.

Buy the super awesome Python No-Spill Clean and Fill. It's a combination siphoner to get the water out, and then a filler to put fresh back in.

You hook it to your faucet threads.
siphon out as much as you want out.