Suggestions for stocking my 70L freshwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StooBroo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Once my tank is established, quite a few weeks way, I am looking to add to the five guppies in there, thinking catfish or loaches.....anything interesting, all ideas most appreciated, as you can tell a total novice.
:)

Well 70 litres is quite small really.

My first tank was only 63litres and it was a hard learning curve to realise just how few fish could be housed in it.

If you're set on the guppies then you'll have to avoid any fin nippers as they'll shred a male guppy's tail quickly.

A handful of the smallest cory cats (Pygmy or panda?) would add a lot of hustle and bustle to the tank without adding any aggression, plus they clean up any food the guppies don't get to.

Are you gonna have live plants at all?

And what substrate are you gonna use?

Well 70 litres is quite small really.

My first tank was only 63litres and it was a hard learning curve to realise just how few fish could be housed in it.

If you're set on the guppies then you'll have to avoid any fin nippers as they'll shred a male guppy's tail quickly.

A handful of the smallest cory cats (Pygmy or panda?) would add a lot of hustle and bustle to the tank without adding any aggression, plus they clean up any food the guppies don't get to.

Are you gonna have live plants at all?

And what substrate are you gonna use?

Hi Scouser and thanks for replying, yes have a couple of plants in, one on a log the other on a broken pot, all from the fishy shop, and after one night the guppies seem to be happy. I do like the idea of the cory cats, definitely don't want any aggression, was thinking a bristle nose too? Or am I getting ahead of myself? What are your thoughts on loaches or other bottom dwellers?