Thought I Shuld join and say hello :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wavedancer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello ,
I'm new here , and I feeling like I am new to fish keeping I'm not though ,

So let me tell y'all a story lol

Once upon a time , when I lived in England , (feels like another life ago)
I was very hooked on fish , you know how it starts ? A 2 foot tank from the local boot sale , couple of books and a year or so later there are more fish tanks than furniture in your home lol wellllll I'm NOT doing that again . Promise ! Lol

Anyway over about 10 years or so I kept all sorts .
My cichlids wear faves my convict tank <3 my jack Dempseys and there love children , not forgetting my Oscar tank , oh and my angels ,

Then there was my community planted tank , through it all that was my fave , guppies, plecs , beta , sword , rams , cherry barb , kooli loch ? nothing to amazing but mesmerizing to me ,
And my plants wear beautiful , It was as much as garden as a fish tank .
And although some of the fish sound nippy and not so well matched they didn't have issues , they had space , plants , good water , good bacteria and they wear a good bunch .

You know that one horrid event that happens and puts you off something you love? Well
A lot of my fish and plants I lost in one go! Yep ! All at once .

I went on holiday something i hadn't done before (i didnt used to travel lol) and the LFS did holiday tanks , I thought all would be ok , I trusted them.

,when I came back they had sold most of my community ! And all of my bog wood bits that had 4 or 5 year old anubias plants I had tied on and grown , everything :(

Sooo after that it just wasn't the same , I sold a lot of bits and gave tanks and stuff away ,