Toadstool Leather Fragging

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

skae310

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a couple questions on fragging my toadstool leather. I have researched it a bit and it seems like a very hardy and easy coral to frag (+mines getting too big). Being this is my first time to ever frag anything I think its good to start with this. I know theres a couple different ways to frag, but do you think it would be better to use scissors or a razor? Also I am assuming I am going to need gloves for this, what kind do I get? (I have only seen thick gloves for aquarium use and I want to be able to feel what I am doing) Lastly, when fragging, how long can the original coral and frags be out of water while cutting and attaching pieces?

I have a couple questions on fragging my toadstool leather. I have researched it a bit and it seems like a very hardy and easy coral to frag (+mines getting too big). Being this is my first time to ever frag anything I think its good to start with this. I know theres a couple different ways to frag, but do you think it would be better to use scissors or a razor? Also I am assuming I am going to need gloves for this, what kind do I get? (I have only seen thick gloves for aquarium use and I want to be able to feel what I am doing) Lastly, when fragging, how long can the original coral and frags be out of water while cutting and attaching pieces?

I have never fragged a toadstool, however, I think you should use a razor blade. Not scissors. You can get some Nitrile gloves at Home Depot, just make sure they are NOT powdered.