Total Newbie looking for advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tkh

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello all,

Warning: Long Post...

So, I am strongly considering picking this hobby up. I have done a lot of research into so far - which has led to, well, more questions, heh. In any case, I am getting closer to actually diving in - the last step being actually purchasing gear and going for it. This is where I am stuck.... Which brands, etc should I be looking at...?

Before this gets too long winded - yes, I am searching the forums and reading other build threads, so I am doing research, but would appreciate some additional direct advice. Pointing me to other threads is much appreciated as well, though.

OK, so question time. (EDIT: Browsed the sticky for particular brand referrals, so I will take those in mind - if there are particular brands to recommend outside those, or more details, that is also much appreciated)

Proposed Build: ~34 - 36g FOWLR that will become a Reef Tank once I am a bit more acclimated to it all. Really the focus will be reef / corals, but I understand that maybe a beginner should start without that.

Tank - I am finding prices around 250 for the tank + stand. Alternatively I can buy a 30g from Craigslist for 300, no stand, but fully functional tank with 2 fish + 20lbs of live rock. It would still require some more components, as it was someone's refugium previously.

Lights - I am thinking LEDs, but what brand? Anything in particular for a 30-36g tank?

Live Rock / Dry Rock - Questions Answered. Will get approx. 40% live rock, the rest base/dry rock.

Protein Skimmer - I have heard good things about 'Reef Octupus'. How does this stack up against the recommended brands listed in the sticky?

Powerheads - Questions Answered.