Upgrading to 20 gallon and need tips for tank mates for male betta

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Haymill2011

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have had a male betta and 1 mystery snail in a 5 gallon hex for the last year. I would like to upgrade to a 20 gallon tank and add a few more fish. What are some good combos? I'm still pretty new to this so I'm not sure what would go well and how many to get. I was thinking about neon tetras and/or possibly a clown pleco or maybe a couple African dwarf frogs? Would love some recommendations on combos that have worked and how many I can put in there without overstocking. Here is what my current tank looks like.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    265.6 KB · Views: 103
Hi, welcome :) I would be tempted on some platys or swordtails which I have kept with a betta before. Neons I believe would work but never kept that combination.

I have a betta, neons, ADF, snails and juvenile Denison's barbs. Everyone gets along.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Rasboras might work as mine keep to themselves.... i think Danios would be too nippy.

I have a 20L and i have it stocked with harlequin rasboras which looks awesome in it and would be compatible with a betta.

Sent from my SM-G928V using Aquarium Advice mobile app

For your 20 gallon aquarium, what is the substrate going to be?

If it's something soft and smooth grained, such as sand or eco complete, then I would highly recommend corydoras catfish. Get 6 of the same species (typically the minimum number recommended), and you will have a happy little school on the bottom.

You could also instead do a school of 6 kuhli loaches. Make sure to provide lots of driftwood or rocks for spots for them to hide. Mine would pile up on top of each other and hide under the driftwood.