Upside Down Horseface Loach

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SuperCat

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi! I'm new to aquarium advice but I've been looking through these posts for about a year now. So bear with me!

I have a 30g fish tank, two-three plants in it. I had a couple more but in the past week or two, more and more of my fish have died.
I had gotten my water tested at the fish store and they said my parameters are fine, the pH was a little low but it's not too much of a problem. He also said that I had some ammonia in my tank but a water change will do the trick.
I had done a 50% water change the day before so obviously I think there's something wrong with the ammonia levels in my tank. For the past 3 days, I have been doing 50% water changes everyday in fear that my ammonia levels would be too high. I have ordered an ammonia testing kit as well as Ammo-Lock by API but won't come in until Saturday.

I have a 30g, instant aquarium sand from Carib Sea, two small pieces of driftwood, and two big-ish plants and a lily pad that is still pretty small. I had thrown away two other plants I had in there because I feared that they were adding to the ammonia level due to the small pieces of plant just floating around in my tank.

I had just added fish to the tank about 2-3 weeks ago because I had just come back from school. I had my tank all set up, the filter going and everything with my sand and decorations for about 3 weeks beforehand. The instant aquarium sand had gotten great reviews so I thought it would set up my tank just fine, the sand claimed to cycle my tank and would be good for a beginner tank.

I currently have 5 glass catfish, 4 marble hatchets, a panda corycat, a green corycat, 3 horseface loaches, and a couple baby guppies.