Vacuuming a planted floor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dagon

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all.

I’m pretty new to fishkeeping and appreciate any advice. At the moment I’m establishing a planted tank.

I have another, smaller, tank which I vacuum when doing the water changes (it always surprises me how much detritus comes up even with v regular maintenance!)

I am trying to establish a planted floor in the new one. I am cautious about vacuuming and disrupting the plants.

Any thoughts on the correct approach?

Thanks.

D

Just "shwish" the gravel vac over the surface and remove the mulm built up on the surface. The rest will decompose slowly and (hopefully) be up taken by plants.

Over time, you may notice A LOT of crap that builds up, so eventually a decent gravel vac is needed to remove the mulm. A lot of the time, if you are having trouble keeping nitrates in check it can be caused by too much organic material being decomposed in the upper layers of substrate.

Hello Dag...

I don't vacuum my tanks, planted or not. Vacuuming just disturbs the bottom material and then you have debris floating around the tank for a time. The truth is, you don't need to vacuum at all. Everything in the water dissolves in time, so by just removing the old water and replacing it with clean treated tap water regularly, you're removing whatever has dissolved in it.

B

Hi Z

Thanks for your thoughts. Your thinking sounds good to me. The tank is young, so I’m concerned that the planting needs to mature etc. But it is reassuring to hear your thoughts on the long run.

Cheers

D