What To Expect - Maintenance/Filters/Lighting in First Planted Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ehpn7

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm a longtime animal lover but new to fish keeping. I got a used 30 gallon (3ft) aquarium and am finally done cleaning it up, and need to get serious about planning. I really want a heavily planted tank as a way of bringing color & light into my relatively dreary living room, but am getting conflicting information about how simple/complicated, high/low-maintenance planted tanks are. As this is my first attempt at fish keeping, I want this to be a minimally-expensive project and (if possible) on the low-maintenance end of things. I would really like to follow this method (http://www.sudeepmandal.com/hobbies/planted-aquarium/low-tech-planted-tank-guide/) but I'm not sure if it's really as simple as it sounds.

Can anyone tell me what kind of time/money investment I'm looking at? Even things as simple as maintaining/cleaning the filter (for a power filter- sponge filters seem quite straight forward, though again, I've read conflicting information about how appropriate they are for a planted tank).

The current hood is an All Glass T8 fluorescent with a 17 watt bulb. The highest wattage I've seen for 36" T8 is 30 watts- will 1wpg be sufficient for this kind of low-tech system, or are there other bulbs I haven't seen that I can use without replacing the entire fixture?

It can be a big investment, or minimal. It depends on the type of plants you hope to maintain.

As far as lighting, your fixture is only going to hold 1 wattage of bulb. They aren't like incandescent where you can go up or down in wattage. At 17W you would only be able to keep the lowest light plants, like java fern, anubias, and java moss.