White spot

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mkc2186

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, I put a post up last week in regards to my ick outbreak, I’ve got a 6ft tank that’s fairly new and unfortunately I e had an outbreak of ick, I’ve tried everything possible in terms of raising the temperature, adding salt, frequent water changes, gravel cleaning, adding meds.....nothing seems to work, the only fish in the tank are my rainbow cichlids, they’re all adult, there’s 8 of them and they’re riddled with white spots now, they’re showing all the signs of advanced infection. Laying on the bottom of the tank and barely moving! They’re are barely eating too......is there any point that you cut your losses and put them out of their misery? I know it may seem harsh but the longer they’re there the more risk of the others becoming infected? I’m no expert and would appreciate some feedback on this topic. Thanks

Sorry in the regards to what fish are in the tank there is, 3 frontosa’s, 3 silver dollars, 1 green terror, 2 yellow labs, 2 rosy barbs, 2 angel fish and 8 cichlids. Only the cichlids are affected by the ick, they’re all older than the oldest of the other fish. Is there any reason why it’s only the cichlids affected?

The others will probably get it soon enough.
The only real way to cut your losses is kill the ich.
It is in your tank not just on the fish you recognize..
Rid Ich Plus and water changes .
Your fish sound like they will die before salt or heat work..Both take much longer then meds and really only work on small infections IMO..