55g All male peacock build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Patty1980

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Decided to get your opinions. I'm new to cichlids. After much researching, I want to use juveniles. The guy at the new lfs I tried today (so not gonna trust him just yet, amazing cichlids though) says I could house 15 total peacocks in my 55. Then he walked me through how to add them. His suggestion was to turn off the lights, rearrange the tank, add new fish each week or two (2-4 at a time), let them acclimate for a while before turning on the lights again. Does this ALL sound like good info? Any peacock lovers with all male tanks out there? Thanks and Go Thunder!!!

Sent from my EVO using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Sounds perfect advice to me. Rearranging is important so no one claims a part of the tank.
I'd also get another tank on hand. As fish mature it is possible that one will become more dominate and aggressive, you'll want to remove that fish
Don't get attached to any fish. Finding the right balance in an all make tank takes time, and you might go through several fish before you find the right combination of fish that will display their colors, and get along

Getting them as Juvi's is a great idea. They'll grow up together, and tolerate each other better as they get bigger. You can still wind up with that one fish that is just mean though.

I'm going through the same thing right now. After years I decided to switch to an all make malawi tank. I have 20 right now, expecting to get rid of 4-5 as they mature.

Also avoid getting fish of the same species or similar colors as one will be dominate over the other. (Not always, but typically)

In my case I did get fish of similar coloring, because it will force the best one to color up more, and then I'll get rid if the others. Which will still color up once removed from the dominate fish