A question for Krib owners

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chasgood

Aquarium Advice Freak
I am new to Kribs and cichlids. Got a male Krib on Sept 19th and the female on the 25th. The first day I was afraid the male would not take to her as he seemed to be running her off even thou she was displaying for him. Her belly turned very red as soon as she seen him. The next day they looked like a pair.
The last few days she has not come out from the hiding spot to eat. Today I shined a flashlight in there and saw eggs on the underside of the fake driftwood. They are a dark cream color.
Is it normal for her to not eat while guarding the eggs?
Do they usually breed so quickly?

chasgood...

Pelvicachromis pulcher, the 'kribensis' cichlid, is one of the easier cichlids to spawn. Sounds like yours are behaving in typical 'kribi' fashion. Yes...it is normal for her to not venture out of her hiding spot while she's guarding the eggs and it isn't all that unusual for them to breed pretty quickly if they're both 'in the mood'.

Congratulations!!

Thanks. Glad to know her not eating is normal. If they hatch survive will I need to move them in a month or so (before the next breeding cycle)? I heard the parents can turn on the young when the next batch of eggs is laid.

Aside from removing the young, you may need to separate the male and female after awhile to let her rest. It takes a lot of energy to produce those eggs!

make sure you get hold of some Microworms soon, so you can feed the fry once they are free-swimming.

You can also practise hatching baby brine shrimp to feed the newly hatched fry. you can find stacks of information on "do it yourself" brine shrimp hatching. just Google it.

all the best!