Aaron's 10g Shellie build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AaronW

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey everyone! Whats happening? Today I decided on starting a build thread over here. I have a 10 gallon thats cycling right now. I want to put shell dwellers in it.

Ok firstly, I have never kept african cichlids so I will need alot of advice on how I can make this a great home for the little guys.

Secondly I wanna make it a biotope, so if you scape heads out there are familiar with what I'm trying to go for I'd love some critiques and pointers.

Lastly I will try to post something every day about it so I can get the best help I need. I am a student with a job, and I'm also a working songwriter so things can get pretty hefty at times. So if some days I don't post please don't lose interest! I'm pretty good about staying on top of things. :dance:

Anyway I'll post the first pic now.:thanks:

Low water level. Going to fix that haha. This is the bear bones build so far. Pool filter sand with a stock hood and light. Also I have an Aqueon 10 gallon filter. Not sure about the heater.

image-288988712.jpg

Im following.

I have been looking into shellies for a while, but my lfs wont get any in for a while.
If you are looking for shells, i think there are some nice shells on amazon for a good price.

Shell dwellers are great for 10 gallons. A pair is what i suggest for a 10 gallon. No more. Also put 4-5 shells in the tank, just for them to choose from, and to play around with.

Sand is a must for shellies. They like to dig. I find pool filter sand great for things like this. It's cheap, and looks better than play sand.

Shell dwellers are great for 10 gallons. A pair is what i suggest for a 10 gallon. No more. Also put 4-5 shells in the tank, just for them to choose from, and to play around with.