Africans and water changes

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dwhit13

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok I am still somewhat new to this world, though I have to say in four short months I have been submeresed in reading everything I can get my hands on as well as reading through a ton of old threads on forums like these. There is obviously many opinions and many different ways experienced fish keepers go about keeping there aquariums.

My specific tank is a 120 gallon 4x2x2 stocked and filtered heavily with mostly Mbuna. I have about 27 Mbuna as well as a few haps in there and a Feather fin. this specific tank is only two weeks old now. From what I learned I was able to cycle this tank by heavily seeding it from my other tanks in six days.

Now I am trying to really get my routine down on maintenance and upkeep. Right now I am changing 30 % of the water about every five days. this is a routine that I can easily keep up on. I was going to start tonight doing a weekly chart of my nitrates to see exactly the effect it is having daily.

I really have only an open ended question specifically for African keepers. How often and how much do you change your water. What parameters do you mostly pay attention to...Also please note the size and stocking of your tank for me.