Beginner - 60g Mbuna African Cichlid Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ulrichsd

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello everyone, great forum here!

Other than having a 10g tank as a kid, I'm new to the hobby and on-line it seems like there is conflicting info on cichlids, especially regarding stocking.

I just bought this 60 gallon tank/stand from Petsmart and am planning on using it for a Mbuna African cichlid tank. Still need some filters/heater/gravel/rocks/caves and fish. The petsmart employee suggested treating with the bacteria stuff and testing the water before stocking, which I plan to do.

Here's the list of Petsmart's African cichlids, but there were probably only about 6 or 7 types at the store: Electric Blue, Spotted Leaf, Electric Yellow, Peacock, Bumblebee, Jewel and generic :)

The person working the fish department there told me to start with 5 cichlids and not to add more than 10 for the size tank.

My questions:
1. Is 5-10 a good number for an all cichlid tank?
2. Are there any other types of fish (non-Mbuna) that I should consider adding to an African cichild environment?
3. Can you suggest an example cichlid mix for stocking a 60g tank?
4. Would it be a good idea to just pick one fish from each type to avoid mating agression? And avoid baby fish filling up the tank?
5. Is it a good idea to just do one of the larger cichlids but group the smaller dwarf mbuna?
6. Is there a good place to buy on-line that is reputable and environmentally responsible that would have more selection?

I am ok with doing a weekly 10% water change, but would prefer something that is not going to be overly time consuming. My big concern is if I get the 1 male:3-4 female ratio and they mate, what am I going to do with all the fish, I don't want to end up with too many fish and an overcrowded tank.