Best Budget LEDs for Cichlids..?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Big Tex

Aquarium Advice Addict
im a big DIY guy, and big on savings. that being said i refuse to pay for a +$250 led light system and i wanna know whats the best leds for cichlid aquariums on the cheap..? if i can utilize my old hoods, awesome, if not, ill build it, im a 2-way communications technician and i can solder with my eyes closed lol so dont hold back on the tech side either. i know i need a mix of cool white and blue, and i have a 55gal with dual hoods, so whats the best to use..? thanks in advance guys!

I pd 100 for this one. It's a single 48 inch w 460actinic and 10kwhite. Made by aquatic life. I hide mine under the stock flourescent hood in place where the t8 bulb would go. I think 2 24 inch won't fit under yours but 2 20's would

Attachments

• image-4270510572.jpg
    image-4270510572.jpg
    121 KB · Views: 200
I pd 100 for this one. It's a single 48 inch w 460actinic and 10kwhite. Made by aquatic life. I hide mine under the stock flourescent hood in place where the t8 bulb would go. I think 2 24 inch won't fit under yours but 2 20's would

Got a link..? I would love that setup it's perfect!

http://www.bigalspets.com/expandable-freshwater-led-light-fixture-8-w-20.html. That's the 20 in h that's diff than one I have slightly. It has red LEDs too mine doesn't. Below I'd like to 24 of my exact kind. Don't see that in a 20 inch but they should make it. It's half blue 460 and half white 10k LEDs.

http://www.bigalspets.com/10k-460nm-expandable-led-light-fixture-9-6-w-24.html.

Sweet, but my tank has the center support in the middle so ill have a gap of dead light space in between the bars, that's the issue I have now.