Bolivian or German Blue Rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jbrock

Aquarium Advice Activist
Can't make my mind up. Has anyone had both? Which is a better community fish?

I have bolivians. They are hardier than gbrs, but still, neither should be added to a new tank. As for aggression, they are still cichlids so some chasing is expected, especially during breeding. I have no experience with gbr but both will fit in nicely with community fish.

I have bolivians. They are hardier than gbrs, but still, neither should be added to a new tank. As for aggression, they are still cichlids so some chasing is expected, especially during breeding. I have no experience with gbr but both will fit in nicely with community fish.
I have a well established 29g tank with

5 balloon red eye tetras
3 peppered corys
1 emerald Cory
1 guppy
1 bristlenose pleco

So if I add either should I get 1 male 1 female or male male

I'd get GBRs. Just a prettier fish IMO although they are very similar.

I have a well established 29g tank with

5 balloon red eye tetras
3 peppered corys
1 emerald Cory
1 guppy
1 bristlenose pleco

So if I add either should I get 1 male 1 female or male male

It really depends. A blue male and female might not pair so that could mean death for the female if the male stresses her out. Two males is asking for trouble because they will battle for dominance. I think two females is the safest. Blue Rams are tough so if your tank is not perfect and I mean perfectly balanced with nitrates around 10 ppm or less they will not adapt. Ph should also be around neutral or lower. Just be aware blues can be difficult but Bolivians are hardier as mentioned

If I do Bolivians would a pair be better than solo? If so, male male or male female or female female?