Calling All African Cichlid Connaisseurs...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

madasafish

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi there,

I'm not new to aquariums, but I am new to the world of African Cichlids! One of my professors has asked me to help him put together a showy tank for the Environmental Science deparment, and I've suggested a Lake Malawi Biotope. He likes the idea, and though I know a fair amount about the cichlid species, I was wondering if there's anybody else out there (on AA) that I can PM if I have specific questions. My main questions will be about species compatibility...

Here are the tank specs...

Present:
100 Gallon Tenecor Bowfront tank (sooo nice...)

Future:
75 lbs of fine gravel, possibly crushed coral for pH
Many large Limestone rocks for pH and to establish territories
A few endemic plants if I can find them.

Fish:
15-30 peaceful to semi-aggressive M'Bunas. Esp.
Cynotilapia mbaba
Labidochromis caeruleus
Melanochromis johanni
Pseudotropheus elongatus
More research to be done...

Anyway, I'm just trying to get an idea of whether there are any AC owners/fans/breeders or store owners who might be able to help me out if I've got questions. Please let me know!

Jonathan

My husband has a cichlid tank and I've done a lot of reading and a lot of trial and error LOL. I can try to help. We also have several books, including Koning's Book of Cichlids and Other Fishes of Lake Malawi. I could probably find out something if you needed to know.

Laurie

Here is an excellent site for constructing biotopes http://www.mongabay.com/fish/biotope.htm
I don't know how much help I can be because I am just getting started on my own biotope, but I have done beaucoup research and have a lot of resources.

Sounds like a great project! I am jealous!

Madasafish this is going to go on a bit i hope i dont bore you.