Cichlid eggs!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JnessaK

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I have a pink convict egg near in my tank that I just noticed today! ??. I have no experience with convict fry, my question for y'all more experienced folk is should I remove the firemouths that are currently in the tank with the convicts? I did read that convict parents can become a lot more aggressive when they're guarding their eggs. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405975253.630433.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1405975264.270445.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I would remove them , the convicts will not stop breeding and they may kill everything else in the tank
or if you don't want fry remove the female convict

So I have a pink convict egg near in my tank that I just noticed today! ??. I have no experience with convict fry, my question for y'all more experienced folk is should I remove the firemouths that are currently in the tank with the convicts? I did read that convict parents can become a lot more aggressive when they're guarding their eggs. View attachment 243906View attachment 243907

Those eggs appear to be infertile if they're as white as they look on here

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice

Yes they're that white, any clue in when the make will fertilize them?? Or is it just a waiting game on when he feels like it. Lol

They should have been fertilized while she was laying them. Are you sure you have a male? they will lay eggs with out a male in the tank

Yep, I have 2 and only one with a orange/red coloration on her belly. Hmmmm...... I'm gonna have to do more researching.

Yeah, the female will lay a strip of eggs, move out of the way, and the male will come in and fertilize them right away, and then the female will lay more, and the male will do his thing again, and repeat