Cichlid tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

neontetra0131

Aquarium Advice Activist
I want to make a tank similar to this what kind of rocks can I use? Can I get any from Home Depot or lowes and break them to make something like this ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1400364963.211791.jpg

I would go to a lawn and garden store that sells bulk rock for landscaping. I got some real nice black slate from my local for .49 a pound.

Worked for me. Clean them really good. Mine had a ton of grit on them. Black in color and are about an inch thick. Can't remember the kinda slate it was but it was cheap. I read somewhere u can by sandstone pavers and break them up but I wanted more natural looking rock.

Boil? For about how long

I am no Rock expert but DO NOT Boil rocks!

there could be a gas buildup inside that when boiled causes the rock to explode.

Now, from what I have read on here, you can pour boiling water over the rocks. You can brush them off with a clean brush, you can pout vinegar or Peroxide (that last might not be correct) and see if it bubbles to know if it is inert or fine for tanks.

Vinegar poured over rocks will tell you if they're safe or not. If it bubbles, DON'T USE. if it doesn't, it's safe.

You can go to home depot, Lowes or any other store that sells landscape rocks. Just wash well. I would suggest a bleach wash.

Soak in 1 part bleach, 4 parts water. Bleach evaporates so just let it dry completely and it'll be safe. Same goes with any wood you find/use.

I've done this in the past and know by experience that it'll be ok :)

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Aquarium Advice mobile app