Discus and gbr

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Hobgob

Aquarium Advice Addict
I was just wondering if anyone here has ever tried to put two male Gbr in their discus tank.. My discus tank is 75gallons planted bare bottom. And was wondering if I could get away with two males. I know I shouldn't put a pair in there for the discus but would 75 gallons allow enough space for the two boys and not bother my discus. Or would I have to do one? I just wanna make sure he does not bother my discus.

If you mean a German blue ram that's plenty of space in my opinion I'm not an expert tho. My father got 2 pairs of rams and getting two discus. They should be fine together. Id try and she what happens if goes bad rehome

If you mean a German blue ram that's plenty of space in my opinion I'm not an expert tho. My father got 2 pairs of rams and getting two discus. They should be fine together. Id try and she what happens if goes bad rehome

How big of tank and male and female ratio. and only two discus? And I'm not going to put the fish in there just to see. I'm not going to put my expensive fish up for an experiment. If the rams do not work it can cause a lot of problems in the discus. I'd like to know for sure.

Ps Gbr stands for yes German blue ram.

I haven't kept either my father has successfully no problems and is doing it again. The discus get a lot bigger then the rams do. Ram max out 3 3.5 inch if you get lucky. I don't think you will have problems. My dad always kept 2 males and 2 females in rams and 1 male and 1 female in the discus. He's got a 30 right now I'd say go a little bigger like 35 to 40 gallons. Provide a lot of hiding spaces I'd also put a few plants in there fake or live that's up to you. I'm going by my experience with these guys. Not a expert tho. Sorry for last post didn't mean doe it to sound like an experiment.