Do male mbunas require females?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maxkolbe

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am new to cichlids and need to stock my new tank. However I have run into a problem. Everyone is telling me that when keeping mbunas the males require their own group of females so they don't fight over them. I have realized that many of the species that I am already committed to getting require sexing via venting. This is hard and we already had an epidemic where mollies had so many babies that they couldn't all be rehomed. I was wondering if it would work to get only one or two of each species so that there are no females to fight over.

The two fish that I need to move into this tank are

1 cobalt blue (not a zebra)
1 yellow lab.

I do not know the sex of either fish

Does anyone know any good tank mates that would not mind being kept in groups of one or two.

The tank is a sixty gallon long with sand for the bottom, lots of rocks, a powerhead for circulation, and possibly a type of syndontis catfish from the rift lakes. All help is appreciated.

Also, would it work to just add the two fish (they're both still small) and do a fish-in cycle? I am rather confused about the fishless cycle and am looking for advice on the process. (I will be adding water from both of our existing tanks.)

You can keep an all male tank, in fact lots of people do just to keep aggression down. You'll still have quarrels, but they shouldn't be horribly bad.
What I've done to cycle a tank is get a clean/soap free pair of panty hose and cut the foot off, put some gravel from my established tank in the footie, tie it off and place it in the filter. It's worked well for me so far.
Good luck!

An all-male tank will reduce aggression over breeding rights (since there would be no females that would motivate males to dominate their rivals).