Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-19-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Double Filtration and Fish Ammonia Production..

Hey guys I have two things to discuss here.

First off, I have a 90 gallon aquarium its currently cycling. I've been using Dr Tim's Ammonium Chloride as my ammonia source and its worked perfect. I currently have one Eheim 2075 and I just purchased a second. I plan on leaving the bio media in one and using the second one as more of a mechanical filter for particulates. My problem is I can only hook them up on one side of my aquarium because my aquarium has a 4 inch dropped glass ledge on the inside of the canopy and there is only cutout on one side for filter in/outputs (if you have any ideas of how I could work around the dropped ledge I'd appreciate it)

Second, I'm looking to add 12 male 3" Aulonacara and Haplocromis all at once. How much ammonia should my biofilter be able to convert into nitrate within 24 hours before I can safely add all these fish?

currently i'm converting between 3-4 mg/L of ammonia within 24 hours.
__________________

__________________
lonelobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 07:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rocksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 242
That's a good amount of ammonia in 24 hours. Looks like you have enough ammonia consuming bacteria.

Are you converting the same amount of nitrite in a 24 hour period?
__________________

__________________
rocksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2012, 11:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocksor View Post

Are you converting the same amount of nitrite in a 24 hour period?
Yes that's what I meant from ammonia -> nitrate no trace of nitrite.
__________________
lonelobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 09:58 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rocksor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 242
Looks like you are cycled and can add fish after a water change. What's the nitrate reading now?
__________________
rocksor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
nitrates

nitrates are between 40-50ppm.
__________________
lonelobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, filtration, fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.