Finally started

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

carlosk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I've been using this site for info and help for the past couple of months. I'm completely new to the aquarium world and I'm loving it so far. I've persevered and completed a fishless cycle and I'm glad I have. Still double checking my water parameters as I'm going along and everything is still looking good. Anyway, I finally got to the local-ish fish shop and picked up the 1st inhabitants of my 180L tank. I had my mind made up and my heart was set on the likes of tetras, bettas, mollies etc.... but when I discussed the options with my local fish store, I quickly realised that my water's pH and hardness was totally unsuitable for these types and we turned our attention to cichlids. I hadn't looked into the possibility of stocking these as I already had my mind made up (or at least I thought I did).

So over to the cichlid section we go, and I immediately love everything about these fish. It may have had a lot for the store keeper's passion for his work and the knowledge he had. I was certainly impressed by the personalities and activity of the cichlids. 5 fish were purchased and added to my tank. The 1st occupants and all is going well 4 days on. I'm keeping a close eye on things and everyone seems to be happy. I need to make a few adjustments to my tank setup now and add more rock/security/hiding places for the cichlids, but that'll happen soon enough. So, being new to the cichlid world, I'm totally confused as to what fish I've actually brought home (even though the store keeper went through it all with me). So I'm going to post the 5 pics to see if anyone can take the weight off my mind. I want to know more about the ones I got and I find it hard to search for info as there are so many cichlids out there.