Fish ID Please!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luggy978

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi all. I've been to my sisters today and she has purchased these two but she can't remember what they were called. I'm pretty new to cichlids myself so an ID would be gratefully appreciated.

Thanks
ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407316847.408171.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407317214.167223.jpg
Sorry about the pics. Wouldn't keep still!!

One day at a time

Cryptoheros Sajica or 'T bar cichlid'. The females have yellow in the fins and the males crimson red. I have one of each but by the looks of your pics you have 2 females. They might not get on too great, unless bought at the same time and they still might not get on too great! Have to see how they go. They are harder on each other than a couple of female convicts in the same tank, in my experience anyway.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

This is my large male btw. I'm still growing my female in another tank and hope to breed them eventually. I bought at different times and shops to prevent in breeding....ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1407334691.241271.jpg

He's a beauty. Yeah it looks like my sister had two females. She's had them a good few months now in a community tank with everything but the kitchen sink in it and she said they've been fine. I'm thinking of finding a male and acquiring them of her cause they are pretty cool. Ha

One day at a time

Yeah, in breeding dress they are stunning, particularly the female. Keep them on their own in that case though because they will seriously mangle anything around them if they breed. The male gets so aggressive it's unbelievable.

The females in a community are normally ok if added last, but they may go after anything small and delicate that's added after them so be wary.