Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-11-2012, 10:02 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

German blue rams... how many is many?

Okay I bought my first gbr's last week and I have read some mixEd reviews. Some people say you should only have one ram per 20 gallons of water and others say it does not matter. I have 6 in my 60 gallon tank. Is it too many or will it be okay?

Old 03-12-2012, 12:10 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

im not an expert on them, but that seems okay, wats ur male to female ratio, and what kind of filters are you running?

Old 03-12-2012, 12:31 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

They are very unpredictable. I had 4 in my 40b at one point and the one male terrorized the entire tank. He rammed 2 females to death and picked on the other for a while. He eventually died and now I'm left with the single female. it really depends on the individual fish. I now how 3 apistos (2 females and 1 male), and the female GBR and everything is going great. I am going to pick up 2 more GBRs the next time my LFS has em (hopefully this week) and see what happens.

From my experience the females don't really care what's going on (unless they are guarding eggs. Then you really need to make sure they have the 5g of space), it's the males that go crazy especially when a female is ready to mate (her stomach will turn red).

You really just need to watch them and see how they interact with each other. Some GBRs mix well, and some just try to control the whole tank.
Old 03-12-2012, 09:44 AM   #4