Help! German Blue Rams

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alexgrippy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I got some new fish today some of which were German Blue Rams. While I was considering what to get the info sheet I found said they would be easy to raise and good for beginners and experts alike. After coming home and acclimating them and releasing them I did some more reading. Now everything I see says they are not good for beginners. Should I take them back to the fish store or ride it out? I don't want to kill them. Any advice appreciated! 20170414_205226.jpg

Hello. I'm no expert at all but I did read an article in practical Fish keeping where someone said German blue rams were the most challenging fish they had ever kept. But whether that goes for everyone I don't know.

Good luck whatever you decide!

They're already dead..... kidding... well.. maybe not:/ yah. Take them back, they're very sensitive fish. I've had better luck with wild caught apisto abacaxis than tank raised gbr.
Than again.. what's yoir setup like? All the details please

They're already dead..... kidding... well.. maybe not:/ yah. Take them back, they're very sensitive fish. I've had better luck with wild caught apisto abacaxis than tank raised gbr.
Than again.. what's yoir setup like? All the details please
It is a 35 gal long, I have a penguin 200 biowheel for and a tetra whisper pf-10 filter on it. Standard lighting for six hours a day and plastic rock, wood and plants with some real drift wood. Gravel substrate and heater. I dont know water conditions besides the LFS told me it was okay to put fish in there, I'm still waiting on my test kit.

They won't like a fish-in cycle.

Ugh. I love blue rams, and this is a nice pair. They are the only fish I've struggled with.

Yes, take them back, get your tank cycled, and then maybe you can get another pair.