Help... I cant figure out what type of cichlid this is

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mfdrookie516

Aquarium Free - 2+ Years
Hi guys, im hoping somebody can help here... Im new to this, ive only had aquariums for 2 months now... I have some fish in one of my aquariums and i cant figure out what they are... the guy that gave them to me said they were jack dempseys... there are around 32 all together, the mom, the dad, and the 30 or so babies... the male looks quite different from the female, he is bigger, different colored and doesnt have the stripes that the female has... here is a picture of the female... after many many many searches i have started thinking they may be convicts rather than jack dempseys... its not really a big deal, but it is stressing me out big time, because i really want to know what all my fish are... i appreciate any help,and sorry about the dirty tank, i splashed some water out on the outside earlier when i was changing the water... thanks

Last edited:
Your pic shows a female convict. She's pretty. :)
A male convict should have stripes... he'd look like the female, only bulkier and without the orange belly. Do you have a pic of him?