Help Please - Over protecting Convict Father?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishCrazyBenBOMB

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've been breeding convicts for a couple months and they finally were able to get their fry to free-swimming stage.

The mother protected them for the longest time, then recently the father took over and he is now control the free-swimming convict babies around the tank.

Today I went in my room and I was looking at my tanks. I went over to my 55G and I noticed the father moved the group into the center of the tank (different location) and noticed the mother was missing. I couldn't find her anywhere in the tank until I noticed her hiding behind the outtake of the filter.

I netted her and put her in a breeder trap quick just to get a good look at her. She looked perfectly fine except her colors are faded compared to before.

Now whenever she goes near the babies he chases her away and now she is forced into hiding on the other side of the aquarium.

What should I do to prevent this from getting any worse? I don't have any QT aquariums and have no room for her or fry in any other tank.

Put a divider in the tank. Go to Lowes or some other hardware store and look in the lighting section for "light diffusers/deflectors". They are 2' x 4' sections of plastic grid basically and they can easily be cut for a tank divider. Use about 4 suction cups to hold the divider in place. There's not much else you can do unless you have another tank.

Put a divider in the tank. Go to Lowes or some other hardware store and look in the lighting section for "light diffusers/deflectors". They are 2' x 4' sections of plastic grid basically and they can easily be cut for a tank divider. Use about 4 suction cups to hold the divider in place. There's not much else you can do unless you have another tank.