Help with African cichlids

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

salts99

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys. I am fairly new to all this so looking for any gems of advice you can offer. Here are the areas I'm struggling with :

I'm struggling to keep my water clear and having real problems with green algae. How often should I change my water (I have a 180 gallon tank). I'm using all the correct filters, monthly water changes (is this enough)? Also struggling to clear the poop and gunge at bottom of tank, in the sand. I have done a lot of research so I am learning. Will be nice to have somewhere to go to ask questions etc about what I'm doing wrong.

The other thing is health of the fish. A couple of them have swollen bellies and one has actually completely lost an eye! I was horrified to see this, it was one of the bigger fish. Also, why do they sometimes lose their bright colour and look very washed out?

As you can see, I need a lot of help. Should I post some pics??

Thanks in advance

Hi, could you be a bit more specific with what filters you are running, water parameters, current fish residents, what and how much you're feeding the tank, how long is the light on? I'd do a 40-50% PWC weekly. Any sign of cloudiness to water and fish distress, the first course of action should always be a PWC.
Look up "bloat/dropsy" and "pop-eye disease" to see if that is what's occurring.