How many cichlids in a 36 gal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nick2e12

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there, I am new to all this and I have been doing my research on how to start a new tank. But the one thing I had trouble finding was how many cichlids I can put in my 36 gallon tank. Please help!

Yeah I know that haha. But I just need a general estimate of how many.

Not too much. If you're looking at a smaller variety, I have heard they don't do too well in pairs, and it would be good to keep at least 3. But it still depends what type of African you want. Some are small, some big with different aggressiveness levels.
You would need a very good filters as they tend to be messy, and a good series of water changes.
I heard you can get a maximum of 6 in a 30-40 gallon tank, and would need a powerful filter(around 5-10 times the load) and a lot of water changes. Give me the species you want, and i can determine for you how many you would need to avoid territorial or pair disputes.

I think the mbunas are nice, the peacocks are beautiful. It all just depends what kind you'd like.

You can probably get 8 as long as they are about 5in
No, not with a 36 gallon tank. What you're telling him is to overstock the tank at it's maximum capacity. If you get 8 at 5'', then you would need a filter that can filter over 10 times the payload, with water changes every day/Other day.
Cichlids are dirty fish, and need room to swim and hide.
I suggest at most 6, if not 3 is fine.

I suppose but by the inch a gal rule u could get 7 correct

No, not with a 36 gallon tank. What you're telling him is to overstock the tank at it's maximum capacity. If you get 8 at 5'', then you would need a filter that can filter over 10 times the payload, with water changes every day/Other day.
Cichlids are dirty fish, and need room to swim and hide.