I need some opinions plz

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Debnamj

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Current specs:1 female kenyi ( 2 inch )
1 albino zebra ( 2 inch )
1 red empress ( 2.5 inch )
1 Venestus ( 1.5 inch)
1 bumble bee ( 1 inch)
2 nyererei ( breeding pair 1 inch)

There currently in a 37 gallon with 50% water changes a week.i plan on a 150 to 200 gallon within a year.

My previous experience with cichlids are owning a breeding pair of red devils , so honestly im in foreign territory.

Okay here is question. With the current species of cichlids in there and the projected up grade can i put more fish? Is overstocking good? And what Should i add ? Agression seems non existence .

I'm no expert on African cichlids, but I would say adding more would be a bad idea. Fish can grow quite a bit in a year, and there's already plenty in there for a 37g. There's not much room to hide or get away from aggressors with that footprint, so I would hold off. The fish are still quite young and I would expect them to get much more aggressive in the coming months before the upgrade, especially with a breeding pair in there

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Yep. From the little i know about Africans i can say that its not a great idea...

I wont list about compatibility as i honestly don't really know...

Venustus get big, too big for a 37.

Breeding pairs of any Cichlid are usually extremely aggressive.

A small footprint of the tank isn't helping anything...

Also, fish can grow a helluva lot in a year. I buy an Oscar now, 12 months later its hitting up 10 inches. So you're probably needing that upgrade in a lot sooner time frame that "about a year"...

Sent from my bed, the only space available to me that isn't smothered in dirty laundry or aquariums.

With those fish in a year there will be a death in that small of a tank IMO.