Input on 29 Gallon with Bolivian Ram centerpeice! --My build thread--

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Daven

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello! The aim of this thread is to hopefully make sure i dont miss anything and discover some ideal ways to set up my 29 gallon (30x12x18") tank for the beautiful Bolivian Ram that i have chosen to base everything around. I will try to stick to this thread and bring it back up when i get to new points in the build. I tend to ramble and explain "too in-depth" sometimes, so feel free to skim through to the meat and potatoes of the post near the end :p

I am new to fishkeeping, but have been obsessing over the hobby and reasearching like crazy anything i can. Currently just finished the beginning cycle on my girlfriends tank (our first) and want to take on a slightly more in-depth tank for myself. The Bolivian Ram is my choice because i wanted something a bit more exotic than the basic community schooling fish, and it appears to be a little easier to manage than the usual chichlid and etc. The remainders in the tank i would like to be a school of 5-6 Fancy Guppies, perhaps a school of cories, and depending on stocking restraints maybe another school of smaller fish. I will be trying my hand at some lower light plants for now. Of course i will be working my way up slowly starting with some of my favoured male guppies that my girlfriend currently has in her tank, and the Ram will be added last and after i am sure the tank is established nicely and that i can keep the water perimeters where the Ram will do best.

-----------------------------------------