jewels with mbuna?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nellynel

Aquarium Advice Regular
Does anybody else have experience with jewels and mbunas together? When i tell some people i have that in my tank they act like its impossible and should never be done but I've been doing it for over 15 years with. Also some seem to think jewels aren't very Hardy and can't hang with mbunas and other aggressive fish

:hide: I know it's a no no but I have two with my mbuna. :hide:

I've noticed they are more calm then the mbuna but I.never have issues between the two

:hide: I know it's a no no but I have two with my mbuna. :hide:

I've noticed they are more calm then the mbuna but I.never have issues between the two

Yeah they can be calmer at times but definitely not soft. Jewels are one fish that I've been able to put with everything...I've had then successfully with jacks, convicts, mbunas, and more. I'm looking at my turquoise jewel right now...he keeps following around my bumble bee trying to pick a fight but the bee wants none of it. Only my auratus backs him down at times. It never get too serious they mostly just blow up at each other and the auratus circles around him so fast he just leaves

ForumRunner_20130818_204435.jpg

I've been thinking about re homing mine because all they do is hide and hang out. They don't get around much in my fast pace tank. They never start fights or investigate a thing.

I've been thinking about re homing mine because all they do is hide and hang out. They don't get around much in my fast pace tank. They never start fights or investigate a thing.