Large South American Tank Size

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rose22

Aquarium Advice Regular
I'm thinking of setting up a large South American Tank in my science classroom. I am thinking of doing an Oscar, severums, blood parrots, Jack dempsey, convict, pleco.

In it's final/adult stage, how big it a tank should I go to house these?

Also, does this look like an okay combination? How many of each would you suggest?

I have no cichlid experience but a decent amount of fish experience.

A common pleco? 90-125g minimum. And that's 1 of each. You should figure about 35g for each of those big guys. Oscars get huge. Blood parrot, jd, severum, pleco can be really large also

I have 2 oscars, 1 gold saum, 1 jd, 1 convict, 1 firemouth, 1 blood parrot and 1 black belt in a 215g and its borderline overstocked. There's still constant fighting and it's a 7' tank

Before I added the Saum, I had a severum in there. He got bullied alot, so I moved him to another. Every cichlid has a different personality and some ppl have severums running their tanks

Mk, so not enough space. Lol. This is why we ask. The area I have can for sure do a 4ft tank, possibly a 6, and can go 2ft deep. I'll measure when I get up there tomorrow to know for sure how big I can go.

Of the fish I listed, because they are readily available in my area, what would you use to stock say a 75 or a 125?

Sorry. I'd stay away from the oscar cuz they grow so fast and get so large. If you did a 75 or 90 you could do several convicts or firemouth or a few of each. 1 blood parrot, 1 jd or a couple of severum. It would still be a fun tank to watch and lots of activity