Limitations of a Planted African Cichlid Tank without CO2

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

natpo

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,
I am brand new to the forum, and I am looking for a little bit of assistance. I have been keeping cichlids for about 5 years, and I currently have a 55 gallon aquarium with more mild mbuna and several peacocks. I am looking to plant the tank as well as I can without getting into CO2 systems as I am on a time/expense limitation as a student. I recently tied an Anubias species of plant to some rockwork to see if my tank would just foster plants well without my researching it further, but this didn't prove to be the case (yellowing of leaf tips and slow death of individual leaves.....possibly nitrogen deficient??). I would appreciate any advice that you more experienced hobbyists may have when it comes to starting the planting process as well as reaching the limits of a tank like mine. Thanks in advance for your help.

Some tank specs:
-55g long
-1 30 watt 36inch 5700k bulb (more than 1 year old)
- Sand substrate
-river rock- rockscape
-1 aquaclear 300 filter
-1 eheim powerhead
-temperature at 78 deg F

Stock: 3 rusty cichlids (1M, 2F), 1 red zebra, 1 yellow lab, 1 taiwan reef peacock, 1 lemon jacobfreibergi, 1 red jacobfreibergi, 1 pictus catfish

currently: no fertilizer, poor lighting, and biweekly waterchanges of 20%

Attachments

• 008.jpg
    008.jpg
    116 KB · Views: 351
Here's my male Iodotropheus sprengerae (rusty cichlid)

Any advice on plant nutrient dosing? Inexpensive lighting? Maximum quantity of plants in this system?

Attachments

• 003.jpg
    003.jpg
    146.7 KB · Views: 174
Your greatest limitation is that you're keeping African cichlids. They're notorious for eating/destroying plants.