My 10g Battle Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dmller11

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a 10g tank with 2 gold labidochromis, and 2 other types of African Cich. I don't know (the reciept says "Asst Africa"), and 1 Juli Cory Cat. The lady at the pet store said they would all cohabit fine, but that is not the case, intstead it has turned into a battle royale:
1. They all chase each other around constantly. (Not too concerning, but i'm curious.)
2. All 4 of them constantly peck at the Cory Cat, and now he is missing parts of his dorsal fin, and tail fin.

Is there anything I can do to keep the Cory Cat alive? Is 10g too small for him to hide? If not, what other bottom-feeder can I use to keep the tank clean? I heard Peco's get too big, too fast, especially for a 10g tank.

I'm still kind of new to the fish tank game, but i'm learning. Thanks!

There isn't any way to successfully keep that collection of fish in that size aquarium. If you want to keep the africans, they will need a much larger aquarium and many more fish added to spread aggression around (somewhre around 10 more fish in a 55 gallon or larger). Corydoras are not appropriate tankmates for african cichlids, especially mbuna (usually what are sold in the "assorted african" tanks).

It's good that you are looking to learn more. Though this time you have learned that the time for research is before you buy an animal not after, and that a lot of bad advice is given at pet shops. :) My advice would be to see if you could just return the whole lot. There are probably tons of readily available species that would be much better suited to a 10 gallon.