Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2014, 03:41 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Need advice on switching tanks please

I need some advise.. I have 2 well established tanks. I have a 55gal community tank with some loaches and I have a 50gal bow front with african cichlids. I want to switch tanks I want to put the cichlids in the 55 because its longer and the loaches in the bow front. What is the easiest way to do this? If the water chemistry as far as ph ends up being about the same could I just switch the fish and not the substrate and the water that they were in? I'm saving up for a lager tank but I would like for my cichlids to have a little more room to swim from side to side. Any opinions or advice would be much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:45 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Nothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
As long as the parameters are the same, you should be able to just swap me over easily. I've got three tanks in my room and sometimes if I gotta move a fish I just net it and toss it in the new tank, never had a problem. Just make sure temps and ph are the same. I could be wrong, but in my own experience I've never had an issue
__________________

__________________
Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 03:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Thanks so much for the reply. I was also wondering about the filters. Both tanks have the same filters but as far as the bacteria built up on them do you think anything is different from one tank to another? And same with the substrate the cichlids have sand and the other is gravel. But when I do water changes the same new water goes into both tanks
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 04:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Nothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
It should be fine, as long as there's generally the same amount of fish. Like unless you have just the loaches in one tank and then an overstocked cichlid tank, it should be alright. Moving the cichlids into the tank with gravel will also have more bacteria built up because the gravel harbors it on all it's surface area.
__________________
Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 04:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Should I vacuum the gravel really well before putting the cichlids in? I think the loaches will also like the sand better because they are bottom feeders and they could dig and sift thru the sand easier to eat
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 07:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
By having more bacteria in the gravel is that a good thing?
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 07:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsojkrieger View Post
By having more bacteria in the gravel is that a good thing?
98% of your bb is in your filter..
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 03:58 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Well I switched tanks 2 days ago and every one is fine. I know a lot of people change their filters once a month or what not. But I normally don't I usually go a few months if not several months and my tanks stay Crystal clear and the water quality stays good, what's everyone's imput on that? How often do you change filter media
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 04:47 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,430
You're doing it right! I don't change it out until it's falling apart, I just swish it out in a bucket if tank water
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:14 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Good I'm glad someone else feels the same way, I have friends who are religious on buying new filters and I always say they are wasting their money I never change mine and they are disgusting lol but my water stays crystal clear and the water quality stays perfect
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:25 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishyfriends3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I live in Essex UK.
Posts: 593
I just check the flow from the filter if it starts to drop. I know it's time to clean the sponges in tank water that I've removed during a water change.

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Research, research, research.
fishyfriends3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:31 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
I have marineland bio wheels and the wheels are still spinning pretty good. But may be doing that today thanks a lot for your input. What kind of filters do you have? I was thinking about switching to fluval down the road a bit if I can't go to a canister
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 08:32 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
I also have a sterilizer in the tank as well I haven't seen to much conversation on those yet
__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 10:49 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
fishyfriends3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: I live in Essex UK.
Posts: 593
I have eheim 2034 two of them on my 65 gal and a fluval fx5 on my other tank.

Sent from my GT-I9195 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Research, research, research.
fishyfriends3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 11:18 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,430
I rock a marineland on one of my tanks, works fine, I kind of made the guts out of other products though..
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2014, 02:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Nothing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 212
I've got an Eheim 2026 (I think) and a Fluval FX6 on my 90g, and a Fluval 206 and Fluval U4 on my 37g (soon to be 55g) and I just clean my sponges when I feel like it's probably time. Like if I'm not doing anything the day I'm doing my water change and I have some extra time. My canister filters I don't clean very often maybe once every 6 months and they are fine. However I found an entire colony of assassin snails at the bottom of one last time I cleaned it...like it literally would have had to climb all the way up the output tube to the bottom, idk what it was thinking. Then it got stuck and had a bunch of babies or something. I can only imagine being at the bottom of a filter for a couple months....*shudder*
__________________
Nothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 11:47 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
hsojkrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 75
Haha that's crazy! I thought about getting snails but never have I wasn't too sure about them.
__________________

__________________
hsojkrieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, chi, tan, tank, tanks

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching to sand, switching to holey rock King_Corral Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 08-12-2010 11:17 AM
switching filters advice please SWerner13 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 04-01-2009 01:58 AM
Switching to a reef tank, need advice for lighting! mdjxt39 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 04-03-2007 12:58 PM
Need advice about switching to Canister filters u2_Crazy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-17-2006 02:03 PM
switching my plans from FOWLR to FO... need advice. guitarded Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 10 09-23-2004 11:43 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.