Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 06-25-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Needs help with setting up a 55 gallon African Cichlid Biotope

Hi
I am new to this form and I want to do an African Cichlid Biotope, either a Lake Malawi or Lake Tanganyika one in a 55 gallon tank, but I am not sure what kind of Cichlids to put in it. I will have white sand for a substrate and lots of rocks inside. I would like the fish to be colorful and easy to care for since I am a beginner at fish keeping. I am not exactly sure of how to set it up and what equipment I should use. I have a 200 watt heater, Aquaclear 70 filter and two florescent 15 watts lights inside a homemade canopy. My plan is to buy plastic egg crate and lay it on the bottom of the tank to help support the rocks from pushing against the bottom. Then I will add the sand and afterwards put the rocks in place.
Please help me with ideas and give me information about setting up a Cichlid biotope tank, also tell me what you think of my ideas for the tank and comment
Thanks... Help Appreciated
Eli

Old 06-25-2012, 10:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

Well you may need to add crushed coral to the tank to buffer it. It all depends on the ph of your tap water.

Almost forgot welcome to AA

Old 06-26-2012, 09:40 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular

How high does the PH need to be? I think it is pretty high in the water where i live. The water is also hard, so i don't need to worry about that. Thanks for responding to my post.
ELi
Old 06-26-2012, 09:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award

7.8-8.6

My well water is 8.2 so I don't use a buffer
Is you do shell dwellers you should get shells aswell