New 40 gallon ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Caliban07

Aquarium Advice Addict
Have a new 40 gallon juwel rio with built in filter. I've heard mixed reviews about built in filter whether they are powerful enough or how much media you can store so I an looking at removing it (if I can get the silicon off) and using a decent canister filter.

I already have a 40 freshwater community and was looking into something different like chichlids . I would like some stocking suggestions please.

Bare in mind I am a chichlid novice so easy to care for species and compatabilites please. :)

Is it the juwel rio 180 ? I have that tank with thr internal and a canister running 24/7 i stuffed the internal with filter floss for polishing, i find it powerfull enough and gives good circulation

Yes it's the 180. Seems a shame though as it takes up a corner. I know it's not huge but if I can take it off I will be doing.

What do you want from a cichlid? I say species tanks are the way to go to get the most natural behavior possible, also fry usually happen easily if you dont have too many males and the best way to get fry i believe would be a single strong dominant male. Too many males can have just as much effect on female behavior aswell as aggression between males as the females seem to lose interest and get used to male company, where one single male would be more intreging for them. Also that particuoar male with show his true beautiful quickly whave 2 species specific tanks. A mdoka ngara peacock and a rusty cichlid tank. You would have to choose them carefully with that size tank and would recommend not getting cichlids that will get anything bigger than 4inches. Theres still quite afew options though, lots dwarf cichlids out there.