New aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Zkrush2

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey,
Just got a new 75 gal tank and I'm a beginner but I have been researching. I was wondering how many oscars it could have? I also would like to know if I could put any Africans with an Oscar. I know its not recommended, however, I have seen people do it on YouTube and was wondering if any1 had success with the combination. Thanks

Welcome! I'm fairly new too, but if there's anything I've learned about keeping cichlids, it's that they are very personable. The fish will develop their own personalities and attitudes. You can try to put africans with oscars. But! The oscars can kill them. It might be one Oscar who has decided he hates all African cichlids. Or it could be all of the oscars. Or it could be completely vice-versa. It's a constant experiment testing the fishes comparability. I have heard that if you get small fish when they're really young and you have them grow up together, they'll be more passive to one another. Good luck!

Okay thanks. I was also wondering if there is any other fish that you know of that are compatible with cichlids (excluding plecos)?

i wouldnt mix africans and oscurs. stick with just sa cichlids. you could get a jack dempsey or a green terror. please dont mix them, it never ends up good.

Welcome to the cichlid forum! SA and Africans have different diets. You can mix them but its not proper. Stick with one or the other.

Which one would you suggest getting? I know that may be a tough question but is one in someways "cooler" then the other?