New Tank Start-Up Questions???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Coyote251

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi All, I am currently in the process of cycling a new tank which I would like to setup as a cichlid tank. I am not 100% sure what type of cichlid's I will be putting in the tank, but have seen a few local people advertising convicts for a decent price. This might be a good idea due to the fact that I am very new to fish keeping, not a whole lot of sense investing tons of money in fish until I have a better idea of what I am doing. So, the tank I am cycling is a 30g, I currently have some planted plants and a bunch of beach stone,making alot of crevases and caves. I do know that this won't house the fish for long and I am fully prepared to upgrade to a larger tank within the next year.

Onto my questions :

1) I am using the fishless cycling method and am wondering when to start conditioning the water for cichlids? I don't want to affect the cycling process by adding minerals and messing around with the GH/KH as I know that this will affect the PH as well. Should I wait until the tank is fully cycled and then add the cichlid water conditioner and KH booster? Do I even need this stuff?

2) What kind of numbers am I looking for in my water tests? I checked it tonight and the GH was less than 20mg/L and the KH was about 65mg/L. The current PH is about 7.5.

3) What things do I need to be worrying about in preparing this tank for cichlids?

4) How many fish could this tank house safely for the first year if I planned on upgrading to atleast a 80g tank within the next twelve months.

Any help,suggestions or direction to any good resources for cichlids would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.