nitrates spiked help me get them down safely

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Greenwood77

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Just checked my levels everything is good except my nitrates here are my parameters:

pH: 8.1
NH3/NH4+ : 0ppm
NO2: 0ppm
NO3: 80ppm+
It seems to be in between 80 and 160 range color indicates darker than 80 but not as dark as 160.

Running eheim ecco pro 2234 I think is the number it filters up to "80" gallons I have a 37. Doing a 30% water change today and going to clean the canister. Anything else I can do to drop the nitrates down without effecting the other levels?

Good luck, i'm just a noob but stop feeding your fish for a day and then reduce your feeding thereafter. Just a tip to add to the water change and filter cleaning. Get a bigger cleaning crew?

Just checked my levels everything is good except my nitrates here are my parameters:

pH: 8.1
NH3/NH4+ : 0ppm
NO2: 0ppm
NO3: 80ppm+
It seems to be in between 80 and 160 range color indicates darker than 80 but not as dark as 160.

Running eheim ecco pro 2234 I think is the number it filters up to "80" gallons I have a 37. Doing a 30% water change today and going to clean the canister. Anything else I can do to drop the nitrates down without effecting the other levels?

I would do a 50-70% water change and rinse the filter media in tank water.

Well cleaning the canister shouldn't be a problem I just took it and cleaned it out and hooked it back up to find its case was cracked at the handle.. Tried to exchange it at the LFS and I had lost the receipt so now I have a marineland penguin 200 as back up til I get my replacement from eheim.. Anyone know the customer service number for the U.S?

I would do a 50-70% water change and rinse the filter media in tank water.