Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-19-2013, 06:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kvnr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 50
Nitrite Problems

Hello, I am new to caring for African Cichlids and need some advice on some high nitrite levels.

I have a 30 gallon tank established since January 1st 2013. I currently have 9 african cichlids (labeled "assorted African Cichlids" at my LFS), A clown loach and a albino pleco.

My water parameters

Ph : 8.2
Ammonia : 0.25 ppm
Nitrite : 2.0 ppm
Nitrate : 20 ppm

My ammonia and nitrite are high and i have been doing a 30 - 50 % water change every other day.

I have a Cascade 150 filter system. Just put a new carbon pad in.

I was wondering if I should get another filter for this tank, and if I'm still in the cycle and that's why my nitrites are high or if i have to many fish.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	249.3 KB
ID:	145465  
__________________

__________________
Kvnr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mogurako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US, Washington state
Posts: 4,449
The presence of ammonia and nitrites indicates that your tank has not finished the cycling process.
__________________

__________________
Mogurako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
You need to be.doing water changes and testing constantly. If you get ammonia or nitrite above .25 then do a water change around 25-30% then test again in an hour or so

There are some great articles about cycling in our article section
__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:04 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Coyote251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 67
Your tank is not cycled so there is no biological filter to handle the ammonia and nitrites. Plus 30 gallon with 9 cichlids is probably a little overstocked. They are one fish that you can overstock to a point as it can help with aggression issues. Most of the articles you read suggest a minimum of a 55 gallon tank. I realize that doesn't help you now, but you should know that you may need to go to a bigger tank in the future. All that you can do now is continue with your water changes. I would probably change 25% every couple of days or when your ammonia levels get up to .2, with that many fish it might be everyday. Don't be surprised if you lose some fish during the cycling process, I hope you didn't pay much for them.
__________________
Coyote251 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:08 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mogurako's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: US, Washington state
Posts: 4,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew McFadden View Post
You need to be.doing water changes and testing constantly. If you get ammonia or nitrite above .25 then do a water change around 25-30% then test again in an hour or so

There are some great articles about cycling in our article section
If the OP is using prime to condition the water then testing with in 24 hours can give false readings. I've noticed since it binds ammo and nitrates to a less harmful state it messes with my results in the first 24-48 hours.
__________________
Mogurako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 07:20 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Kvnr14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 50
Ok, i was also wondering if a second filter system would be a good idea.
__________________
Kvnr14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:34 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Andrew McFadden's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: johnstown, ohio
Posts: 7,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kvnr14 View Post
Ok, i was also wondering if a second filter system would be a good idea.
Part of the problem is these fish should be in a 48" long aquarium such as a 55. This link should help you out
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/lake-m...dcor-hardware/
__________________

__________________
Andrew McFadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nitrite

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.