Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2014, 11:10 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cichlid Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 38
Reverse osmosis

Does anyone have a reverse osmosis system hooked up? Is it worth the money to have one or should I just keep going to my lfs for a 1$ a gallon for the to water?
__________________

__________________
Cichlid Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 02:58 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
In my opinion it's worth it if you need a lot of water. I use about 40 gallons a week for top off and water changes. I purchased one about a year ago my only complaint is the water waste. I use it to water my plants and they make an additional filter you can add to it so you have less waste water. How many gallons do you use a week?
__________________

__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 10:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cichlid Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 38
With PWC and top offs I used about 30-35 gallons a week
__________________
Cichlid Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 11:32 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
It would definitely save you a lot of money. If I were you I would purchase an ro/di unit you can find a good one for what you pay a month on water
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 02:42 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cichlid Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 38
Looked online a bit it's overwhelming how many different one there are
__________________
Cichlid Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 02:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,370
I have one for saltwater. It is the 75 gpd unit made by bulkreefsupply and it works great. Makes a 5 gallon bucket in an hour and 20 minutes.
__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 02:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
What's wrong with your tap water?
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 03:13 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
I got mine off of eBay it's a 6 stage. The tap water at my house shows almost 700 on a TDS meter and that unit makes 0 TDS water. Made a huge difference and it was a very fair price.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 03:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangs27 View Post
Made a huge difference and it was a very fair price.

What made a huge difference?
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
The ro/di machine made a huge difference on water quality. Tap water is not the best to use in salt water and the machine makes pure water so there is no need to purchase the water every week.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:26 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
But he is talking about freshwater/cichlid not saltwater
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:47 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
It can be used in fresh it depends on the fish. Since he has been using ro/di water it will be cheaper if he has his own machine.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 05:58 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
When freshwater guys are using freshwater is because they either have something in their tap water like high nitrate. A 50/50 ratio is used to have a balance. Reducing some of the nitrate yet keeping the trace element needed with a 50/50 ratio.

Which brings it back....why is the OP using RO/Di water. If his water is fine there is no need for a RO/DI unit and him wasting money.
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:06 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
Because most fresh tanks are ok with a mix but you have more control using all ro/di water and adding any minerals you need back in. Tap water is frequently contaminated and they add so many chemicals to it you just never know what's in it. I use ro/di water in my fresh tank and use ro right to bring the water to where I want it. Depending on the op's location he may have bad tap water, where I live the water is nasty and turns the tank green if I use tap.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 06:09 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 670
So we go back to......Why does he need RODI
__________________
Rare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2014, 07:02 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Cichlid Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rare View Post
So we go back to......Why does he need RODI


I have a high level of silicates and nitrates in my tap water. That's why I use RO water.
__________________
Cichlid Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 03:10 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Why not use RO/DI? There are so many chemicals and contaminants in the water that you cannot trust tap water anymore, especially when fish can be affected by the slightest amount of any contaminant that shouldn't be in the water. Not only that, with an RO/DI system, you have much less algae build up as the water is nearly, or is pure. I got my system from Aquasafe Systems, Reverse Osmosis. Shower Filters. Whole House Systems. Water Filters., and have never had an issue with the water, fish, or algae ever since I got my system, and would never go back to anything but this. It pretty much takes care of all of the maintenance I used to have to do.
__________________
LeonardAd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 06:19 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
anachrotech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: near Detroit, MI
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangs27 View Post
Because most fresh tanks are ok with a mix but you have more control using all ro/di water and adding any minerals you need back in. Tap water is frequently contaminated and they add so many chemicals to it you just never know what's in it. I use ro/di water in my fresh tank and use ro right to bring the water to where I want it. Depending on the op's location he may have bad tap water, where I live the water is nasty and turns the tank green if I use tap.
I've been looking into this because of my tap water becoming questionable due to lack of maintenance by the municipality. What would you use to add minerals back?
__________________
36g Bowfront Corner freshwater -
305 Fluval, Current LED+,
2 Black Marble Angelfish, 2 German Blue Rams, 7 White Tip Tetras, 2 Albino Cory, 2 Pepper Cory, 2 Green Cory
anachrotech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 08:44 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
tangs27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Phx, AZ
Posts: 387
I use ro right it puts the good minerals back in for my freshwater fish. The only downside is it can get expensive.
__________________
tangs27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2014, 10:34 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,370
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangs27 View Post
I use ro right it puts the good minerals back in for my freshwater fish. The only downside is it can get expensive.
Ro contains 0 minerals. How does it put the good stuff back in? For fw you have to add additives to the ro water before it goes in the tank to get pH, kh, etc right
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
osmosis

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

« African help! | ID »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reverse osmosis? jolopy409 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 12-30-2011 06:42 PM
reverse osmosis and deionizer what one bskerrichard27 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 12-20-2011 10:16 PM
reverse osmosis? Travis55 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 11 10-17-2011 05:56 PM
Reverse UGF + Canister ok with discus? The Editor Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 0 08-30-2011 05:21 AM
Reverse Osmosis Rebel1970 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 07-16-2011 01:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.